13.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1944, and Present Ministries as at Dec. 31, 1944—concluded

YUKON TERRITORY

Nore.—The Yukon, formerly a District of the Northwest Territories, was made a separate Territory in 1898. The Yukon Act provides for a local government composed of a Chief Executive, styled Commissioner but since classified as Controller; also an elective Legislative Council of three members having a three-year tenure of office. The Yukon Territorial Council performs much the same functions as do the Provincial Governments. The Controller functions in lieu of the Provincial Cabinet and the three members of the Territorial Council function in lieu of the Provincial Parliament. The seat of local government is at Dawson, but the Controller acts under instructions from the Governor General in Council or the Minister of Mines and Resources at Ottawa.

COMMISSIONERS OF YUKON

Name	Date of Appointment			ate of intment	
James Morro Walsh. William Ogilvie. James H. Ross. Fred Tennyson Congdon. Wm. Wallace Burns McInnes. Alexander Henderson. George Black.	July 4, 1898 Mar. 11, 1901 Mar. 1, 1903 May 27, 1905	GEORGE PATTON MACKENZIE (Gold Commissioner)	Apr.	1, 1928	

TERRITORIAL COUNCIL

(Three members elected 1944, for 3 years)

Dawson District	John R. Fraser, Dawson
Whitehorse District	ALEXANDER A. SMITH, Whitehorse
Mayo District	ERNEST J. CORP. Keno Hill

PART III.—CANADA'S INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS Section 1.—Canada's Growth in External Status*

The evolution of Canada in its external relations is reflected in the growth of its Department of External Affairs.

In 1909, when this Department was set up, Canadian representation abroad was confined to a High Commissioner in London (since 1880) and an Agent General in France (since 1882), neither of whom possessed diplomatic status.

Canada's negotiations with foreign powers on such matters as trade and boundaries were conducted through the medium of the British Foreign Office with Canadian Ministers or officials taking part on occasion in the negotiations. Dealings with other parts of the Empire proceeded through the Colonial Office. With the British Government, the normal channel of communication was the Governor General who at that time represented both the Crown and the Government of the United Kingdom. It is true that there were Canadian officials abroad serving as trade commissioners and immigration agents, but they represented individual Departments of the Federal Government and did not act on behalf of the Government as a whole.

The establishment of a Department of External Affairs was first proposed in 1907 by a veteran civil servant, Joseph Pope (later Sir Joseph Pope). In his opinion the time had come for "a more systematic mode of dealing with what we may term, for want of a better phrase, the external affairs of the Dominion". The subsequent incorporation of that phrase in the title of the Department paralleled its use in

^{*} Prepared in the Department of External Affairs, Ottawa, by F. H. Soward.